Dogs Don’t Speak Spanish


Perhaps it’s not the best idea to write a post while in a less-than-desirable mood but I think what I’m about to write has some degree of pertinence.  Of course, like with all endeavors in life, a study abroad experience has difficult days and it’s important to realize that not every day will be ideal.  It was an overcast day in Pamplona and I found my mood much in tune with the way that the sky was looking.  There are many factors involved with my relative unhappiness today but those are not things that need to be discussed.  What I would like to discuss is something that made me smile today.  As I was walking through the campus, listening to a bit of mellow music and lost in my all-too-tumultuous thoughts something made me smile.  I was so completely surprised when two little gray paws reached up to greet me that I almost tripped over the little guy.  He stayed just for a moment… jumped on me twice and as I was looking around to see where he came from he ran as quickly as possible a very long way across the lawn to his owner.  What I found odd about this occurrence was that I was almost completely alone; not only with my thoughts but I was also one of only a few people walking on the campus.  For some reason, this little guy must have known that I wasn’t feeling so great and he came to say, “Hey, it’s okay, I still think you’re pretty amazing!”  This is when I realized that there are things that can make you smile no matter where you are in the world or how alone you are feeling.

Today I’m thankful for that little puppy…

About futureexpat

Just a student with a zest for learning, currently studying abroad in Spain and here to share all of my experiences with you.
This entry was posted in Life, Personal Experience, Study Abroad and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dogs Don’t Speak Spanish

  1. sarahdabomb says:

    OMG that is the cutest thing ever!!! I love seeing all the little puppies on the streets here & how they don’t even need leashes. That picture is adorable!!🙂

  2. Brenda says:

    What a sweet post! Hope today is better!

Leave a Reply

