The Elusiveness of Placement


The last few months have been flying by me like a whirlwind.  Please join me as I recap for you and tell about finally being placed with a Spanish University.

As the end of my semester here in the States was approaching I was also rather impatiently awaiting news of my placement in Spain.  As any ISEP participant can tell you, it takes a painfully long time to hear about your placement.  I submitted my application to the ISEP office by the February deadline and was prepared to wait a few weeks to hear where my application had been sent for review.  ISEP approves your application to be sent to a university that you’ve listed and then the application goes to the university in order to be approved there.  The ISEP coordinator in the ISEP facebook group stated that 90% of applications that are sent to universities by ISEP are approved for placement at that university.  As soon as the minimum amount of time had passed I called my ISEP coordinator at my university to ask if she could tell where my application had been sent.  She, of course, told me that she didn’t have that information and that I would need to wait longer.  It was March 5th when I contacted the coordinator at my university once again to inquire about the status of my application and she informed me that it had been sent to La Universidad Pública de Navarra in Pamplona, Spain.  I was ecstatic because this meant that I was that much closer to being approved for placement at the university of my top choice.  In the following weeks I was still waiting but a bit more patiently because I was fairly certain that I would be placed in Pamplona.  Finally on the 12th of April I received an email from my ISEP coordinator letting me know that I had been placed at Pamplona!  After preparing to study abroad for over a year, the feeling of finally being placed was nothing short of fantastic.  The confirmation of placement made all of my plans suddenly start to seem like they were existing in reality.  With surrealism being thrown to the wind, I made arrangements to meet with  my ISEP coordinator and go over all of the required paperwork to accept my placement.  In the next posts I will tell you all about the orientation meeting, the essential forms I had to fill out and how I’ve been preparing to submit my visa application.

About futureexpat

Just a student with a zest for learning, currently studying abroad in Spain and here to share all of my experiences with you.
This entry was posted in España, Europe, ISEP, Journey, Navarra, Pamplona, Spain, Spanish, Study Abroad, Travel, Uncategorized, Visa and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Elusiveness of Placement

  1. I’m going to study abroad in Pamplona next fall as well!🙂

    • futureexpat says:

      Wonderful! Which university will you be studying at? Are you going through the ISEP program as well?

  2. I’m actually doing a direct exchange from my school to the Universidad de Navarra. So, the other one, but still in the same little city.😛

Leave a Reply

