The Waiting Game


“None of us knows what the next change is going to be, what unexpected opportunity is just around the corner, waiting a few months or a few years to change all the tenor of our lives.” – Kathleen Norris

Like so many of the other ISEP hopefuls, I am now waiting on my application to be processed.  The website said it should take around six weeks for the placement process to be completed but I’ve been told by previous ISEP participants that it could take longer than that amount of time.  At this moment my study abroad plans are kind of at a stand-still.  Once I receive word about where I will be placed I will be able to begin making arrangements to obtain my Visa, buy my plane ticket, and start corresponding with my host university.  In the meantime I’ve been spending a lot of time making new and interesting friends on Lenguajero.  Below I’ll list a few interesting things that you might want to check out.  They’ve been making my time in waiting go a little faster and I’ve been bettering my Spanish skills while utilizing these sites.

Lenguajero Blog

This is an awesome little blog to accompany the stellar learning environment of lenguajero.com.  This blog is updated by the founders of the lenguajero site.  Natalie and August share their exciting finds on how to better your Spanish language and have fun while doing it!  I’ve put a link to this blog under the blogroll column to the right of this post so that it will be easily accessible in the future.

Radio Tuna

This is a great little site of live streaming radio stations playing all different types of music.  It’s a great way to expose yourself to new music.  There are Latin stations to suit almost every taste and one of the most beneficial parts is listening to the advertisements and broadcasters talk in between the songs.  You can also look up Radio Tuna on Twitter.

Matador Network

The best way to spend your time if you’re a travel addict!  I love this site!  It contains really great articles written by people from all different backgrounds.  I’ve never visited this site without finding an article that stole my attention.  You can join the Matador Community and connect with others that are like minded.  The Matador Community is a really inviting environment that inspires people to travel and to better themselves by exposure to different ways of life.  If you’re interested in doing a bit of travel writing there are a lot of opportunities on the “bounty board” to spark your inner adventurer.

Nextstop

Nextstop is another phenomenal travel site!  If you’re looking for unique places to visit, restaurants that the locals eat at, or perhaps you just want to feed your inner travel bug by dreaming of places to go in the future then this site is definitely for you!  The concept is that members create guides which recommend the best places they’ve visited.  There is a huge amount of freedom concerning the creation of guides… There are all kinds of guides from The World’s Best Swimming Pools to Beautiful Basque Villages.  No matter what it is you’re looking for you can probably find it on Nextstop.  If you’d like to visit the Nextstop page for Spain you can either click on the link or you can access it by clicking on the featured blogger award here on my blog.
I hope you all enjoy these sites as much as I have been enjoying them!

About futureexpat

Just a student with a zest for learning, currently studying abroad in Spain and here to share all of my experiences with you.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Culture, España, Europe, ISEP, Journey, Language, Spain, Spanish, Study Abroad, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

