A summer filled with thoughts of Spain


I spent my summer attempting to prepare myself for my two upcoming Spanish classes.  Since deciding last Spring that I would be studying abroad again I’ve been extremely excited and motivated to learn about Spain.

To start off the summer, I read most of my Rick Steves’ travel book. I also spent a lot of time exploring twitter.com and looking for people and organizations to follow that would help me continue to be thinking about Spain and Spanish.  I followed gospain, grahunt and countless others on twitter.  I’ve found these people to be very helpful whenever I was seeking advice or just simply wanted to know what is going on in the lives of expats living in Spain.  If you have a twitter account and have a question you’d like to have answered about Spain, simply type in your question and follow it by #spainhelp and there are many people following this tag that can help answer your questions.

I guess I should also mention that before the Fall semester of 2009 (the current semester) I hadn’t taken a Spanish course for three years!  Needless to say, I was very concerned about my language abilities…  Over the summer I spent a lot of time attempting to get my mind to think in Spanish once again.  I looked over all of my old Spanish materials and text books but found that rather boring…  I went online in search of other ways to brush up my skills.  Twitter again was a helpful resource because I followed different news sites that publicize news in Spain (which consequently is in Spanish).  In addition to twitter I also went online to my public library site and played around on a program that they offer.  The program is free if you have a library membership.  It has different exercises and quizzes that you can do to help with language skills.  I enjoyed doing this program because it was interactive, however my favorite way to brush up on language skills was by far listening to podcasts.

There are many different podcasts that I enjoy listening to about Spain.  For the beginner I would recommend Coffeebreak Spanish.  This podcast teaches Spanish from scratch…  For the more advanced learner I would recommend Showtime Spanish which is geared for individuals that have already completed the Coffeebreak Spanish podcasts or have some previous Spanish language experience.  I also enjoyed listening to a podcast called Slow News in Spanish.  This podcast broadcasts current news in Spanish and also teaches language while giving news.  I would also recommend podcasts by Ben Curtis; they are always interesting to listen to.

Next time I will share about the exchange program I am creating my application for and the different universities I am interested in attending.

Thanks for reading and if you have any questions I’ll do my best to answer them!

About futureexpat

Just a student with a zest for learning, currently studying abroad in Spain and here to share all of my experiences with you.
This entry was posted in Culture, Language, Spain, Spanish, Study Abroad, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A summer filled with thoughts of Spain

  1. Graham says:

    Hey Leah. Good to know we are being followed here and being useful for people. Keep in touch as you sort things out. And keep up the study programme.

Leave a Reply

