Snip Snip


Did I really wait 6 months to have my hair cut?  Yes.  Was it a really absurd and irrational fear?  Yes.

Today I finally either became desperate enough or brave enough to get my hair cut in Pamplona.  It doesn’t really matter if it was desperation or bravery because the end result is the same; shorter, healthier hair.  A friendly and outgoing receptionist greeted me as I entered the salon and then directed me to a lovely middle-aged woman who patiently helped me decide how I wanted her to cut my hair.  She then washed my hair in the same manner as all the stylists I’ve been to in the US have and directed me to the chair where she began cutting my hair.  There was a moment of panic when she cut about four to five inches off in order to create the shortest layer.  I was a bit concerned as she kept cutting away while I was standing there (because my 6-month length of hair was far too long for her to cut it properly with me sitting in the chair).  She kept cutting, trimming, shaping and I have to say that the end result is not anything different than I would have expected in the US.  It wasn’t so terrible, with a few moments of confusion assisted by demonstrative motions both Pilar, my patient stylist, and I survived the experience.  I think I’m feeling brave enough to go back again… maybe less than 6 months this time.

Useful Vocab:

Caspas (see comment below) Capas – Layers
Corte de Pelo – Haircut
Cita de Antelación – Appointment in Advance
Recorte – Trim
Cortar – To Cut
Secar – To Dry
About futureexpat

Just a student with a zest for learning, currently studying abroad in Spain and here to share all of my experiences with you.
This entry was posted in Adventure, España, Europe, Fashion, ISEP, Journey, Language, Life, Navarra, Pamplona, Personal Experience, Spain, Spanish, Study Abroad, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Snip Snip

  1. MadridMan says:

    “I feel your pain.”
    I did the same as you upon moving to Madrid – although not 6-months! I waited and waited, stressed and stressed, wondered HOW I was going to explain to a Spanish barber – whom wouldn’t likely speak any English – how I wanted my hair cut. He, too, was patient, but even to this day, after 5-years, I always get stressed when I have to get my hair cut, I put it off and put it off.
    And it’s not JUST the explanation of HOW to explain to get my hair cut – because now my guy knows my style (short and simple) – but it’s all the conversation that goes along with it while he’s cutting. I’m the ONLY American/English-speaker in the neighborhood and his ONLY non-Spanish-speaking (mother-tongue) client so he likes to have a little fun with me, too.
    My neighborhood barber is quite friendly, and always smokes/smoked WHILE cutting my hair. Now, after the No Smoking law, I wonder if he’ll adhere to that in his own little shop. We’ll see – TODAY!

    Saludos, MadridMan

    • futureexpat says:

      :) Buena suerte! I do agree that the conversation is the most stressful part! I won’t wait six months to get another haircut so hopefully each time the haircut and the conversation will get a bit easier ;) I hope the lack of nicotine has no effect on your haircut today!

      • MadridMan says:

        Today’s haircut went well, as usual. The conversation was typical; the economy and joblessness, the differences between an American Valentines Day and the one in Spain, his unsuccessful attempt at giving up smoking, AND the anti-smoking law. Although, oddly, he didn’t smoke today, he did state that in HIS business he’ll do what he likes, laws-be-damned.

        Saludos, MadridMan

      • futureexpat says:

        There is something endearing about the Spanish willfulness, isn’t there?

  2. ohcornelius says:

    I used to live in Pamplona – LOVED it! :) Happened on your site – will read it more when I get the time :)

    • futureexpat says:

      Hey! Thanks for reading :) Pamplona is a great little town, enjoyed looking at your photo from Estafeta!

  3. vivicortes13 says:

    Hi, I like your blog, I`m spanish speaker native so your blog help me to improve my english, so thank you for that. In your useful vocabulary you wrote caspas = layer, (I know your wrote fast and you made a funny mistake) Caspas in spanish means dandruff xDDDDDD but in my country when a person is rude is common to say him “usted es una caspa” but its offensive. Thank you for your blog.

    • futureexpat says:

      Haha! Thanks for pointing that out :) I definitely meant capas. I will fix that! I’m glad you enjoyed reading my blog. I’m still blogging on my own site now but there won’t be as much content about Spanish. You can have a look around on my new site if you’re interested http://www.oppositeocean.com

Leave a Reply

